Review: Godsgrave

September 22, 2017 in Book Reviews, Fantasy

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: GodsgraveGodsgrave by Jay Kristoff
Series: The Nevernight Chronicle #2
Published by Harper Voyager on 7th September 2017
Genres: Fantasy
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
five-stars

Mia Corvere has found her place among the Blades of Our Lady of Blessed Murder, but many in the Red Church hierarchy think she’s far from earned it. Plying her bloody trade in a backwater of the Republic, she’s no closer to ending the men who destroyed her familia; in fact, she’s told directly that Consul Scaeva is off limits. But after a deadly confrontation with an old enemy, Mia suspicions about the Red Church’s true motives begin to grow.

When it’s announced that Scaeva will be making a rare public appearance at the conclusion of the grand games in Godsgrave, Mia defies the Church and sells herself to a gladiatorial collegium for a chance to finally end him. Upon the sands of the arena, Mia finds new allies, bitter rivals, and more questions about her strange affinity for the shadows. But as conspiracies unfold within the collegium walls, and the body count rises, Mia will be forced to choose between love and revenge, and uncover a secret that could change the very face of her world.

So, if you haven’t read Nevernight then either go pick up a copy or check out my post with 6 reasons to read it. Godsgrave is the second book in The Nevernight Chronicle and while I won’t be discussing Godsgrave spoilers there will inevitably be Nevernight spoilers.

Ok, so Mia is now a blade – after Lord Cassius anointed her one prior to his death. As well as her original passenger Mister Kindly, Mia now also has the company of the late Lord Cassius’ shadow wolf, Eclipse. I have to say I wasn’t entirely sure about the banter between these two shadow characters to begin with, but actually, I grew to really like it!

Mia has not given up on her intention to kill Duomo and Scaeva in order to seek justice for her family. However her blade status does complicate things somewhat and so Mia, in true Mia-style, comes up with an outlandish, if cunning, plan to finally end her foes.

There is so much to love in this book – not least Mia, who really is an incredible character. She took me on a bit of a rollercoaster in this book, but that’s what all good characters do, right?

There are some interesting new characters in this second book and I really like the way that Kristoff incorporated them, as well as the reemergence of some more familiar characters.

As you’d expect having read Nevernight, this book is filled with blood, fighting, death, profanities, poison; I mean it’s probably not for everyone. But if you’re a Nevernight fan, then you know what to expect!

Kristoff is such an incredible writer. I love the way he involves the reader in this story, with added sarcasm to boot! I was worried Godsgrave  wouldn’t live up to my high expectations but it really did. I had no idea where the story was going to go and I love the direction it took!

I’m not quite sure how we are meant to wait another year for the final book in this trilogy. I’ve provisionally marked it in my 2018 diary already!

five-stars

Review: Gemina

October 5, 2016 in Book Reviews, Sci-Fi, YA

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: GeminaGemina by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Series: The Illuminae Files #2
Published by Rock The Boat on 20th October 2016 (UK)
Genres: Sci-Fi, YA
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
five-stars

Hanna Donnelly is the station captain’s pampered daughter and Nik Malikov is the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. Together they struggle with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, blissfully unaware that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall with news of the Kerenza invasion.

 

 

Ok, first things first, this is the second book in The Illuminae Files series. If you haven’t read book one, Illuminae, then check out my post about it or just go and read the book itself. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! Either way, if you haven’t read Illuminae then stop reading this right now!

Still here? Ok, let’s talk Gemina!

When we left the Hypatia at the end of Illuminae she was headed for the Heimdall Waypoint, the gateway to The Core. The thing is they didn’t know if the Jump Station still existed or if BeiTech had attacked it and its occupants too.

Well, Gemina is the story of what was happening on Jump Station Heimdall while the Hypatia was headed in their direction.

Pretty cool, huh?

I absolutely loved this, a different aspect on the whole situation complete with new characters, a new environment and new challenges. All the while, the story linking in to our old favourites aboard the Hypatia.

I’m absolutely determined not to spoil anything in this book. So this is going to be short. The format is as Illuminae, collated files that together tell the story of the Heimdall.

It’ll probably come as no surprise to you that the characters in this book are brilliant. Our key characters are sassy, sharp and hugely badass.

Kaufman and Kristoff are brilliant at what they do. They’ll mess with your head, stomp all over your heart, make you laugh out loud and stare in disbelief. My husband actually heard me swear at this book – that’s a new one, I don’t think I’ve done that before!

This book is action-packed, brilliantly written, indescribably tense in places and utterly unique. I love the way we uncover more and more of the story.

I adored Illuminae but I have to say that, somehow, Gemina is EVEN BETTER! I was captivated from the outset and by the end of this novel I was completely blown away.

This is an incredibly special series of books so far and I cannot wait to read the conclusion. Stunning!!

PS I need a new star rating system for this series alone, 5 stars just doesn’t seem to cover it!

five-stars

6 Reasons To Pre-Order Nevernight!

August 2, 2016 in Book Reviews, Fantasy

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

6 Reasons To Pre-Order Nevernight!Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
Series: The Nevernight Chronicle #1
Published by Harper Voyager on 11th August 2016
Genres: Fantasy
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
five-stars

Destined to destroy empires, Mia Covere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.

Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and demons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no Hogwarts, but Mia is no ordinary student.

The shadows love her. And they drink her fear.

 

I recently saw a tweet from a fellow blogger addressing the fact that sometimes the books you enjoy most are the most difficult to review. I fear that this might be the case with Nevernight. Why? Well I want to share my love for this book with you, without any spoilers! This could be tough…

With this in mind, my post today is going to be a little different from my usual reviews. I’m going to share with you six reasons why you should be pre-ordering this book NOW, ready for its release on the 11th of August. (See bottom of the post for details on the various editions available in the UK).

Right, so here we go. Six reasons why you NEED to pre-order Nevernight!

 

1.

#1 a strong, feisty, kick-ass female protagonist

Mia is an awesome character. I love her banter, her bluntness and her deadliness. She’s isn’t without flaws – exactly how I like my characters!

2

#2 a rich, absorbing and creative world

Seriously, this world is fascinating! The Gods, the suns, the politics, the history – I loved uncovering and understanding more of this world. Admittedly I wasn’t sure about the footnotes that adorn this novel to begin with, but these are awesome! They add to the story, help us to understand the world and they’ll make you chuckle too.

3

#3 assassins

Moreover, a school for assassins.  A ruthless environment where only three of the best will become coveted ‘blades’. Need I say any more?

4

#4 it’s deliciously dark

Oh so dark and oh so brilliant! As you’d imagine in a book about assassins there’s death, blood and gore. There’s monsters, loss, hatred and revenge. There’s back-stabbing, savagery and deep, dark shadows. I could go on…

5

#5 a narrator who’ll make you chortle

Those footnotes I mentioned that help us further our understanding of the world and its history? They are also where our narrator adds his own two cents – or rather two ‘beggars’.

6

#6 the beautiful spell-binding writing

… and the profanities!

Oh there’s more. There’s so much more – friendships, family, fear, fraternising to name but a few.

I could’ve devoured this book whole, but I loved it so much that I savoured it. I didn’t want it to end. What’s exciting though is that this is just the first book of a trilogy. Kristoff stomped all over my emotions in this book and (the glutton for punishment that I am) I cannot wait to see what he brings us in book two!

Get your pre-order in!

If you are in the UK there are a couple of different Nevernight editions available for order. You probably want to be quick though as stock will be limited.

  • Goldsboro have a signed first hardback trade edition complete with sprayed edges.
  • Waterstones have an exclusive hardback edition with black edged pages.
five-stars

Review: Illuminae

September 5, 2015 in Book Reviews, Fiction, Sci-Fi, YA

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: IlluminaeIlluminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Series: The Illuminae Files #1
Published by Rock The Boat on 1st October 2015
Genres: Sci-Fi, YA
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
five-stars

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she'd never speak to again.

From Goodreads

This novel, the first in a trilogy, is something a bit different, a bit quirky and more than a bit brilliant.

We open to find a covering letter accompanying a dossier of hacked and acquired files. It’s through these documents – emails, instant messages, military files, schematics – that we uncover the story of what truly happened in an interstellar war that claimed the lives of thousands.

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d ever have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

After breaking up, teenagers Kady and Ezra find themselves separated in the aftermath of the invasion of their home planet.

They eventually locate each other using onboard communications between the three ships that contain the planet’s refugees. Through hacked emails and instant messages we see them repair their friendship, and with their associates, they set about finding the truth of what’s really going on on board the ships.

I’ll admit, at first I had no clue what was going on, but just go with it, embrace it and all will slowly be revealed.

As much as I want to gush about this novel, I absolutely do not want to spoil it for you. I went into this book pretty blind and LOVED it, so I want you all to get the same experience.

What I will say is that this is a tense, thrilling and, at times, terrifying read. The slow revelation of the story through the dossier of documents is brilliant. Such a unique and fascinating way of storytelling and one that I absolutely loved.

Admittedly, there was some cheesiness in the form of messages between some of the characters, but with teenagers in love that’s kind of to be expected. That was the only thing I wasn’t so keen on in this novel though.

This is a book that I couldn’t put down. Upon closing the back cover I handed it straight to my husband and said “you have to read this”, so that should give you some idea of how much I enjoyed it.

In short… read it, it’s brilliant!

five-stars