The Body Finder Series….Dead Silence

Posted April 16, 2013

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Body Finder Series….Dead Silence Dead Silence by Kimberly Derting
Series: The Body Finder #4
Genres: Fantasy, YA Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher

Three of my favourite things are based in and around Seattle – Frasier, Grey’s Anatomy and The Body Finder series of books. I guess you could say 4 if you count my coffee obsession (Seattle is famous for its coffee roasting & shops).

I’ve been waiting all year for book four of the Body Finder series, Dead Silence. I was put on to Kimberly Derting by a friend on Twitter and after reading the first chapter of the first book I have been hooked. So when I was offered the chance to review Dead Silence I jumped at the chance. Yes, I may have stalked the postie for a while until the book arrived through the door, such was my excitement.

I’d love to launch in and discuss Dead Silence but it occurs to me that since this is the fourth book in the series I’d better not spoil anything for those of you who haven’t discovered Kimberly Derting yet. So instead let’s start with a bit of information about The Body Finder.

Violet is a teenager with a difference. She has an ability, one that she must keep secret – she can sense the echoes of the murdered and imprints upon their murderers. For years Violet has been finding murdered animals and together with her parents burying them in their garden so that they might rest in peace. Over the course of The Body Finder series things step up and she finds herself not only finding human bodies but also tracking down their murderers.

While the “body finding” aspect of Violet’s life may separate her from other teenagers, she still leads a teenagers life, school, friends and a special male friend all keep her busy.

I absolutely love this series of books, they never fail to disappoint. Derting has a unique writing style and really captures the readers imagination. I love that while she writes as Violet for the majority of the chapters we also get chapters written from the killer’s perspective – these chapters are written in italics. As a result I feel we, as readers, get a full picture. We get two stories, that of the killer and of Violet, and eventually these stories will converge.

It’s not very often that I read a book that keeps me thoroughly gripped, however I find myself turning page after page of Derting’s books, desperate to know what’s going to happen next.

I love the Body Finder concept. I’d love to know what inspired Derting, how she came up with this ability for Violet. Whatever it may be, it’s a fascinating idea that will keep you gripped!

Dead Silence absolutely did not disappoint. I love how invested I’ve become in all the characters, Violet and the two boys in her life Jay and Rafe.

I’ve been deliberately vague in this post as I really don’t want to spoil anything for you. Suffice to say these books are really easy to read, great young adult fiction. It’s not all body finding, there’s some romance thrown in there too!

There’s just one problem with these books – finishing them! After I’ve read them I am just desperate for the next one.

Dead Silence will be published in paperback in the UK on 25 April 2013.  If you are looking for a new series to read I highly recommend The Body Finder!

Now……. will there be a fifth book?!

We received a review copy of Dead Silence free of charge. As always our review is completely honest and all opinions are entirely our own.